Cuz You Can’t Hang Yourself If You Ain’t Got Enough Rope

Today was supposed to be the first scrimmage for your Keller Indians, but if you are looking outside you know the game has been cancelled due to weather.  If I know Coach Stramp, he will do everything in his power to get the game in this week, even if it means playing in a snowstorm.  I’ve heard good reports on this years baseball team which looks to be pitcher heavy and the worry will be scoring runs.

Saturday night I had a quandary of sorts.  I had tickets to go see Pat Green at Billy Bob’s but Chris Knight was in town at the Granada.  I ended up giving my tickets to Pat to my daughter while Shannon and I headed over to Dallas to see Chris Knight for the first time.  If you, like most people, haven’t heard Chris Knight’s music I highly recommend you take the time to listen to some of his stuff.  Very powerful to say the least.   

If you are wondering about the title to this post, it’s a classic line from Chris Knight’s “Enough Rope”.  The Chorus is as follows:

But I’m thankful for the things I have,
And all the things I don’t.
And I’ve got dreams that will come true,
I’ve got some that won’t.
Most the time I just walk the line wherever it goes.
‘Cuz you can’t hang yourself if you ain’t got enough rope.

Today is also the first day to file for office if you plan to run. 

Well I work for the city in the town where I grew up.
Some days I run a backhoe some days I run a dump.
If I had other plans on my graduation day,
Then several years ago I guess I hauled ‘em all away.
Yeah I hauled ‘em all away.

She told me she was pregnant on the day I turned 18.
I did what your supposed to do. I bought her a ring.
He didn’t have to ask us, but he asked us anyway.
We stood up and said, “I do.” what else were we gonna say?
What else were we gonna say?

Well I’m thankful for the things I have,
And all the things I don’t.
And I’ve got dreams that will come true,
And I’ve got some that won’t.
Most the time I just walk the line wherever it goes.
‘Cuz you can’t hang yourself if you ain’t got enough rope.

My boss man is mad. I did just what he asked.
I mowed the courthouse lawn watched the prisoners walkin’ past
I’m happy to be working, instead of wearin’ chains.
Like my cousin Willy, he’s locked up in the grange.
He’s locked up in the grange.

But I’m thankful for the things I have,
And all the things I don’t.
And I’ve got dreams that will come true,
I’ve got some that won’t.
Most the time I just walk the line wherever it goes.
‘Cuz you can’t hang yourself if you ain’t got enough rope.

There’s a tavern down the highway, I go to drink some beers.
And wash down all I’m missin’ by hangin’ around here.
Then I drive back to the trailer; I’ll makeup with my wife.
I kiss my sleeping children, and I get on with my life.
Yeah I get on with my life.

Comments are disabled.

