Not Ready To Make Nice

During the first part of the Iraq War the Dixie Chicks said some things on a stage in Europe about our sitting President.  It was disappointing for a guy like me, because I liked their music and to hear them say the things they said made me think twice about spending any of my hard earned money to support them.

The Press reported how fans were protesting their concerts and the the Dixie Chicks started a campaign telling us how we were anti First Amendment when in fact we were practicing capitalism at it’s finest.  We decided not to spend our money to support speech we didn’t agree with.

Now comes word that a comic made some pretty disgusting statements about Rush Limbaugh at the White House Correspondents Dinner this weekend (not only that, but the Chosen One laughed at the joke).  So, it’s OK for the Dixie Chicks to speak their mind, but not Rush Limbaugh? 

The Chicks put out a single that told the story how they felt after their whole imbroglio entitled “Not Ready to Make Nice” in it there is this stanza:

I made my bed and I sleep like a baby
With no regrets and I don’t mind sayin’
It’s a sad sad story when a mother will teach her
Daughter that she ought to hate a perfect stranger
And how in the world can the words that I said
Send somebody so over the edge
That they’d write me a letter
Sayin’ that I better shut up and sing
Or my life will be over

Isn’t that what the comic is saying to Rush?  That he better shut up and follow the Chosen One or she wishes his life would be over?  Where is the outrage from the Liberal Media?  Will all the morning shows be inviting Rush on to talk about how he feels?

I’m not holding my breath.  Let’s hope that Rush isn’t ready to make nice.

Comments are disabled.

