Smells Like Teen Spirit

Only a few times in my life have I heard a new song and said…..wow.  Touch Too Much by AC/DC was probably the first soon to be followed by Ain’t Talkin’ Bout Love by Van Halen.  Both of those I heard for the first time when we had first moved to Germany as a 13 year old kid.  We had been living in conservative Utah and the culture shock of moving not only overseas, but to Kaiserslautern which was akin to moving to a rough intercity school district.  Needless to say, my taste in music changed and those two rock groups probably make up the vast majority of my soundtrack to those three years spent overseas.  Because I moved around so much as a kid, I don’t keep in touch with many people from my youth.  One of the exceptions was the guy that lived on the first floor of the housing complex where I lived, Mark Popp.  He and I still keep in touch and one of the reasons is we experienced the “wow” together when listening to these groups.

One of the few times I have heard a song as an adult and said “wow” came when I heard Smells Like Teen Spirit.  I watched a movie with Shannon the other night, can’t remember the name of it, but it had a scene in which the main character heard the song for the first song and it reminded me of my reaction.  I can still remember where I was and what I was doing. 

Comments are disabled.

