Jim Carson

Jim had a LTTE in this week’s Citizen:

I was astounded to find the fourth and fifth paragraphs in last week’s article, “Unusually quiet election season for City Council.”

In the fourth paragraph, the informal group was not “led” by me. I was not a councilman at the time. And the plan was not to expand the library; it was to build a brand new library in Town Center.

The voters did not side with me in 2005, as the next paragraph implied; they “sided” with me in May 2006. I was not ousted in November of any year; I was ousted in May 2008.

But all these errors pale in comparison to the reporter’s failure to recognize complete nonsense as such. Mayor Pat McGrail said, “There are no special-interest groups now.”

Perhaps if journalists would question the veracity of statements like “There’s overwhelming support for a Town Center library” and “The Town Center district fund [TIF] is healthy,” Keller wouldn’t have these contentious uprisings so deplored by the likes of former Mayor Julie Tandy and Positively Keller group member Doug Newton.

Jim Carson, former Keller City Council member, Jacksonville, Fla.

Jim, just let me know if you want a username and password to post here, I’ll get you set up.

8 responses to “Jim Carson

  • easterwoodc

    What is this….Keller City Limits? just kidding

  • Jim Carson

    I may need to post here if I have anything else to say about Keller. It seems when you write a letter to the editor heavily critical of said editor, your letter gets heavily edited. Who’da thunkit?

    Sarah Junek (editor at the Keller Citizen, called me at 10am on a Wednesday two weeks ago. That’s just a few hours before her deadline for that week’s paper.

    I returned her voicemail the next day, leaving her a voicemail. I did not hear from her again.

    A week ago I read her article on the lack of council races this year, and responded with the following LTTE:

    Editor:

    I was astounded to find the following paragraph in last week’s Keller Citizen:

    “The last such issue arose in 2005 when an informal group, led by then Councilman Jim Carson, fought a plan to expand the Keller Public Library and protested some officials’ tactics to advance it.”

    The informal group was not “led” by me; I was not a Councilman at the time; and the plan was not to expand the library–it was to build a brand new library in Town Center. The voters did not side with me in 2005, as the next paragraph implied; they “sided” with me in May, 2006. I was not ousted in November of any year; I was ousted in May, 2008. Also, there is no such thing as a “lightening rod.”

    But all these errors pale in comparison to the reporter’s utter failure to recognize complete nonsense as such. Mayor McGrail said, apparently with a straight face, “There are no special-interest groups now.” It would seem that the reporter dutifully noted this, transcribed it into the article and then published it to 40,000 people without so much as a “Really, Mayor?” follow-up.

    Perhaps if journalists would question the veracity of statements like “There’s overwhelming support for a Town Center library” and “The Town Center district fund (TIF) is healthy,” Keller wouldn’t have these contentious uprisings so deplored by the likes of Tandy and Newton.

    I’ve bolded the parts she left out. Letters may be edited for clarity and occasionally for length, but should never be edited to cover one’s ass.

    Of course she didn’t bother to tell me she would significantly alter my letter.

    Note: she lifted the phrase “lightening rod” from this website. Doug’s spelling is a little better than a typical blogger, but she is supposed to adhere to a higher standard. Being a literal quote, she should have used a [sic].

  • Doug Miller

    My spelling is atrocious, and thanks to you for those two years I didn’t look like a complete moron. My grammar isn’t much better, and I’m sure my mother (who reads this blog) sometimes wonder how a former english teacher failed so miserably with her middle son.

    Oh, and I think Sarah is just a reporter, not the editor. I don’t know who the new editor is, however.

    Anytime you want a password, let me know. In fact, I’ll set one up and email it to you just in case you have “that feeling”

    Thanks again Jim.

  • Jim Carson

    …And don’t get me started on the council’s new way to fund art.

    Ray Brown was in full agreement with my demand that Keller’s art program be funded out of the General Fund where it has to compete with all other spending priorities in the city.

    For that matter, so was Mitch Holmes and the entire rest of the council. That’s why the art program’s funding was moved from the sleazy kickback from the garbage vendor to the General Fund.

    Now Ray proudly proclaims “If we’re going to have public art, we need to put a funding vehicle in place or forget it. I’m glad to see that it’s there.”

    The funding vehicle he’s talking about is a 1 percent “dedication” on projects over 1 million. A “dedication” is better known as a tax.

    The council has reinstituted sneaky taxes that the public probably wouldn’t vote for using a different method.

    And speaking of what the public would vote for, every candidate in the May 2008 city council election expressed support for the idea of a voter referendum on Keller’s art program.

  • Jim Carson

    I’m pretty sure Sarah took over for Todd. It’s very unlikely the KC could afford some unknown editor in addition to the reporters.

    I’ll bet Sarah’s editorial boss is Mike Norman, but I’ll bet he doesn’t bother to look at KC’s letters.

  • Big Bob

    KC Publisher is Steve Jacobs
    Executive Editor is Charles D. Young
    Editor is Jay Board

    Sarah is one of three (3) Writers for the KC and very young person I may add.

  • Doug Miller

    Sarah reads the blog, so maybe she can comment.

  • Barb Miller

    Actually I am very proud of my third son for all he has accomplished in his life. My fingers get tangled up on the keyboard too, I might add. It isn’t I can’t spell, but I get into too much of a hurry and leave errors in my writing. Proud Mom

