Nick Tripp’s Obituary

From the FWST:

William Nicholas “Nick” Tripp passed away Sunday, March 15, 2009.
Funeral: 10 a.m. Saturday at the First Baptist Church of Keller. Interment: Nick will be laid to rest in Bourland Cemetery with full military honors. Visitation: The family will receive friends 6 to 8 p.m. Friday at Lucas Funeral Home, 137 E. Hill St., Keller.
Memorials: You may honor Nick with a memorial to Sundown Ranch, 3120 VZCR 2318, Canton, Texas 75103, http://www.sundownranchinc.com. When his family relocated to Texas from Arkansas, Nick attended Keller schools and graduated from Keller High School in 2006. Nick was an outstanding athlete and loved to play many sports, but his true love was baseball. He loved the outdoors and with that came hunting, fishing and camping, where many memorable times were spent with family and friends.
After graduation, Nick joined the U.S. Marine Corps in October 2007. He was currently stationed at Camp LeJeune, N.C. One might sum up Nick’s life by saying that although he could run, jump, hit and throw, his best game was laughter.
He was preceded in death by Bill Tripp.
Survivors: Parents, Rusty and Melinda Tripp; brother, Christopher Tripp; sisters, Becca Tripp and Jennifer Noyes; grandfather, Glenn Shahan; grandmothers, Janis Shahan and Alene Ledbetter; and his extended family of aunts and uncles.

Follow the link above to sign the guest book.

3 responses to “Nick Tripp’s Obituary

  • Casey

    hey im sorry
    i went to his profile to see how he was doing, and i found all kinds of sad messages, i typed his name into google, and found this!

    could someone please fill me in.. my husband and him were friends but my husband is in iraq right now

  • parent

    I think its great to honor someones memory however, to honor someone who repeatedly did drugs, taking his own life in the end is sending the wrong message to kids. It’s widely known that drugs are a part of KHS varsity baseball…is this really what we want our kids to think is okay? I think NOT!!!!

  • Doug Miller

    parent,

    I could chose a lot of different responses, but I will try the high road.

    I remember Nick as he was on the baseball field, for his accomplishments for the Indians. I remember how he played the game and how he treated his teammates. He would be the first person to back someone up in a pinch and was the type of young man that would take his shirt off for you if you needed one.

    Nick’s issues with drugs were deep and profound. When he went into the Marine Corps, we all hoped that he could beat his demons.

    I know first hand about addiction. I know how hard it is to have the willpower to break it once you are both mentally and physically addicted. My addiction is probably one of the worst drugs there is in the world, but it is legal, so there isn’t that much of a stigma to me buying a pack of Marlboro Lights and having a smoke.

    It’s no different though, both addictions will eventually kill you. One in a slow manner, one in a quicker way.

    I don’t judge Nick, nor will I ever. He fought his demons and sadly he lost.

    When the Keller Baseball Parents and supporters decided to honor Nick with the planting of the tree and instituting a scholarship in his name, I also see no problems with it. In fact, I donated money to the cause.

    If you have an issue with it, I suggest you take it up with Coach Stramp or AD Bob Dejonge. I think you will get about as far with them as you did with me, but the difference is they work for the district and I don’t.

    I do know this, if you decide to challenge this issue, I will fight tooth and nails against you and use whatever little bit of political capitol I have left in this town to preserve both the memorial and the scholarship.

