A Story for our Elected Officials

I have a nine year old daughter that is a very happy kid, always with a smile on her face and a joyous outlook on life.  When my wife was laid off a few weeks ago, we sat her down and told her that things would be OK, that we wouldn’t end up in a soup line or out on the street.  She actually was happy to see her mom home for a change and this week when she got Strep Throat, it was a blessing as my wife was able to take care of her 24/7.

Last night my daughter got a phone call from one of her classmates, her dad was laid off yesterday.  Her friends family may have to move as they can’t afford to live in Keller.  My daughter is crushed, she’s worried about her other friends, and the doubt is sinking into her thinking.  We will sit her down again and explain to her best as we can what is going on with the economy and how we feel somewhat safe and try to ease her mind.

When she told me last night about her friends dad I had a sick feeling in my stomach.  I’ve been there before.  I’ve had to face the fact that I might not be able to pay my bills next week or next month. 

This month starts the budget process for both the school board and the city of Keller.  The elected officials in town need to realize that this economic crisis is hitting with1 in 12 people out of work, and the experts are predicting 1 in 10 by summer.  My step daughter who graduated college in December is waiting tables because nobody is hiring. 

All unnessesary spending needs to be cut out of the budget.  The tax rate needs to stay the same, if not be lowered.  I understand that revenues may be down, but it’s time to reflect on the people that are struggling to pay their bills in a time of crisis.  Giving 10% raises to bureaucrats when you are running a budget deficit is stupid, and you will be held accountable.

Continue to do stupid things with your budgets and I promise that I will have people protesting outside of your meetings.    If you don’t have the guts to look at the administrator that is proposing the budget and tell them to make further cuts, you need to resign now. 

Yeah, this rant is a little over the top, but it’s how I feel.  Enough is enough.

7 responses to “A Story for our Elected Officials

  • L. B. Holmes

    Yes, Doug, a little over the top. But your philosophy is very clear and I am very much supportive of it. Thank you.

  • Bill

    I can’t believe I find myself responding to something I’ve read on the Internet, but here I am. I’m not even sure how I got here, to be quite honest. But I agree with what you wrote. I’m not sure what the 10% is in reference to, but it suggests a real problem with reality. However, as sympathetic as I am to the very valid points you make, I’m not totally sure you can pin all the responsibility on elected officials and paid public servants. As the folks footing the bills for public services, have we provided those we elect to represent us a clear understanding of what services we expect from the various entities that we have some control over, such as cities, school districts, junior college districts, etc.? Have we absolutely made clear to those in power what services we are willing to pay for and those we are willing to do without? Are we readily willing to accept the limitations of limited government? Do we really need that park? Or that recreation league along with the paid staff to organize and run it? Does every public school really need a librarian and a nurse?

    I am very willing to pay less for local governmental services. At the same time, I have to be totally honest and make sure that I am willing to accept the level of service that a lower revenue stream would engender for any local political subdivision.

    Anyhow, just some thoughts, and probably not very good ones at that. You folks have a great weekend!

  • easterwoodc

    Since today is the last day to file for the ISD school board, has anyone else register to run against Melody Kohout?

  • Doug Miller

    Nobody else has filed

  • Randy Rasp

    Doug, sorry to get off topic for a second, but I heard someone call into KLIF this morning named “Doug for Keller” around 7:50am. Was that you by chance?

  • Doug Miller

    I haven’t listened to KLIF since the days of David Gold and Kevin McCarthy

  • easterwoodc

    ah, the good old day of KLIF. How i miss them

